Loughmore (@1.16) vs Aherlow Gaels (@5.0)

Our Prediction:

Loughmore will win

Loughmore – Aherlow Gaels Match Prediction | 11-09-2019 15:00

To contact the Office of the Press Ombudsman go to www.pressombudsman.ie or www.presscouncil.ie Tipperary Live provides news, events and sport features from the Tipperary area. This website and its associated newspaper are full participating members of the Press Council of Ireland and supports the Office of the Press Ombudsman. For the best up to date information relating to Tipperary and the surrounding areas visit us at Tipperary Live regularly or bookmark this page. This scheme in addition to defending the freedom of the press, offers readers a quick, fair and free method of dealing with complaints that they may have in relation to articles that appear on our pages.

In recent years, contemporary star players include Ciaran McDonald and Barry Grogan who both played for the Tipperary senior football team. The club lost its senior football status in recent years[when?] and through a reduction in playing members joined forces with current intermediate team Lattin-Cullen GAA for the senior football championship. The club is centred on the village Of Lisvernane and surrounding Glen of Aherlow, some eight miles east of Tipperary town. It has also become increasingly active as a hurling club, and plays Ladies' Gaelic football. This combination team known as Aherlow Gaels won the 2016 championship be defeating old foes and neighbours Galtee Rovers. Aherlow GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in County Tipperary in Ireland, established within a year of the GAA's foundation.[1] The club plays Gaelic football at senior (in a combination with a neighbouring club), under-21, junior, minor and underage levels in the West Tipperary Division and all-county competitions of Tipperary GAA.

Subs: D Bourke for Webster (22 mins), W Eviston for Kennedy (52 mins), T McGrath for A McGrath (56 mins), S Hennessy for C Hennessy (59 mins).AHERLOW GAELS: S Leonard; S Russell, J Hennessy, E OMeara; M Hanley (0-1), M OBrien, S Mullins; S Grogan (0-1), T Fahey (0-2); T Hanley (0-2), B Grogan, L Coskeran; S Cunningham, C Dillon, B OBrien (0-3, 0-1 free). LOUGHMORE/CASTLEINEY: D Brennan; T Long, J Meagher, L Egan; T King (1-0), C McGrath, J Ryan; N McGrath, J McGrath (1-9, 1-7 frees, 0-1 45); D Kennedy, A McGrath (0-1), L McGrath; C Hennessy; M Webster, E Sweeney (1-0). Subs: M Russell for Dillon (16 mins), B Hanley for Mullins (38 mins), S Kiely for Cunningham , A Leahy for Coskeran (48 mins), T ODonoghue for S Russell (58 mins).Referee: D OMahoney (Ardfinnan).

While Loughmore had their noses in front, they were doing so through McGraths frees with the goal the only score they managed from play in the half. Despite having plenty of promising attacks, they always seemed to take one pass too many. Two John McGrath frees had Loughmore off to a swift start and after Mark Hanleys fine response for Aherlow, the Mid Tipp side struck for the only goal of the first half in the seventh minute as Evan Sweeneys superbly weighted pass found raiding wing-back Tom King striding forward and he finished well inside the near post.

Official Website of Tipperary GAA

You give out about them when things dont go right, and they didnt go right for us in the Mid championship, but we got back to the field, regrouped Eddie Connollys illness really galvanised us as a unit and we really drove on from there. Hats off to the players, they are an unbelievable set of players. Manager Declan Laffan paid tribute to his group of players, the majority of whom had been in action for the seventh consecutive weekend, between both codes.

AHERLOW GAELS: S Leonard; M O Brien, S Russell, E O Meara; M Hanley (0-1), J Hennessy, S Mullins; S Grogan (0-1), T Fahey (0-2); T Hanley (0-2), B Grogan, L Coskeran; S Cunningham, C Dillon, B O Brien (0-3, 1f); Subs: M Russell for Dillon; B Hanley for Mullins; A Leahy for Coskeran; S Kiely for Cunningham; T O Donnell for S Russell.

Momentum, therefore, could be key here - both of the opening round games take place on Sunday, May 7th: Drom & Inch take on divisional rivals JK Bracken's in Templetuohy (6pm) while Kilsheelan-Kilcash and Killenaule meet in Monroe (7pm). Group one appears wide open with JK Bracken's, Kilsheelan-Kilcash, Drom & Inch and Killenaule all sure to have their eye on a spot in the concluding stages of the championship.

The second game in group three takes place on Sunday, May 7th at New Inn (2pm) and features Galtee Rovers-St Pecaun and Ardfinnan. The group three clash of ire g Annacarty-Donohill and Loughmore-Castleiney launches the county senior football championship in Golden on Friday, May 5th (throw-in 7.15pm) - during a one-sided meeting of the sides in 2016 Loughmore strolled to an easy win and you can be sure that ire g will be nourished by the memories of that defeat this time around.

Leading 1-4 to 0-5 at the break, Loughmore took control early in the second half with an Aidan McGrath point being followed by John McGraths goal as Aherlow keeper Shane Leonard and defender Sean Mullins failed to deal with the dipping 45-metre delivery which went all the way to the net. The midfielder was also involved in the move for Evan Sweeneys goal in the 50th minute. Forced to take extra risks to get back into the game, Aherlow left themselves exposed at the back, with Loughmores penetrating runs yielding frees which McGrath converted.